What Traffic Offenses Can Get you Arrested?

Traffic tickets are as much a part of driving as auto accidents: they happen. But while failing to come to a complete stop at a stop sign and getting a ticket may not seem like that big of an issue, there are actually driving offenses that are far more serious and can even result in your arrest. If you are convicted of these offenses, your penalties could include jail time, the suspension (or full revocation) of your driver’s license, and even a possible criminal record.

While this is not a complete list, the following are a few examples of traffic offenses for which you could be arrested. If you are facing any of these charges, contact a skilled Fort Worth traffic offense lawyer immediately.

DUI/DWI

The violation that will always lead to an arrest is driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI). The state of Texas takes these charges very seriously, and a guilty charge can leave you with a permanent criminal record, which may impact your ability to seek employment in the future.

Penalties for a DUI/DWI offense include (other than being arrested):

  • License suspension or revocation
  • Large fines and surcharges
  • Community service
  • Jail sentences
  • Mandatory education and intervention programs
  • Elevated car insurance rates and premiums

If you are going somewhere and plan on enjoying an alcoholic beverage, make sure you are at least 21 years of age, and plan ahead to secure a ride home, making the roads safer for yourself and everyone around you.

Reckless Driving

Reckless driving is defined in Texas law as operating a vehicle with “willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.” This broad definition has been interpreted a host of ways by police and highway patrol officers to include driving with excessive speed, making unsafe maneuvers (such as weaving in traffic), or endangering other drivers. Drifting, street racing, and testing a driver’s physical endurance can all be considered reckless driving, which is a misdemeanor offense. If a person is injured as a result of this reckless driving, the charge is elevated to a felony and includes a minimum of six months in a state prison.

Reckless driving can also be charged when fleeing or attempting to elude the police. This charge can result in a minimum of one year in jail and a fine of up to $4,000. If you are intoxicated while you do so, the penalties increase even further.

Driving on a Suspended License

If you have your license suspended due to a previous offense, you are forbidden from operating a vehicle on public property, and can be arrested if caught doing so. You will be charged with a Class C misdemeanor for a first offense, which includes a $500 maximum fine. Repeat offenders could have the class of their crime upgraded to a higher-class misdemeanor. If you do not have insurance while driving without a license and you seriously injure or kill someone, you could be charged with a Class A misdemeanor, which can land you a fine of up to $4,000 and up to one year in jail.

If you have been arrested due to a traffic offense, such as a DUI/DWI or reckless driving, time is not on your side. The legal system moves quickly to prosecute, so it is important that you contact a capable Fort Worth criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. A. Oliver Hassibi is a native of Texas, and very familiar with our state’s road laws and legal codes. With over 14 years of criminal defense experience, Attorney Hassibi can help you orchestrate your criminal defense with an edge proven by numerous successful results.

Contact the Law Office of A. Oliver Hassibi online or by calling (817) 953-2663 and get a free initial consultation for your case today.

Categories