By Law Office of A. Oliver Hassibi
May 9, 2018
Are you facing theft-related charges in Fort Worth or anywhere else in Texas? If so, you’ll be curious to know how theft charges are prosecuted in the Lone Star State. You’ll also want to know the penalties involved.
Theft offenses are covered under Title 7, Chapter 31 of the Texas Penal Code. Under Chapter 31, theft can be prosecuted as a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the value of the property stolen. Let’s take a closer look at theft under Section 31.03 of the Penal Code and its classifications.
In Texas, various theft-related offenses fall under Sect. 31.03, including shoplifting. The penalties depend on the degree of misdemeanor or felony charged.
A Class C misdemeanor is punishable by a fine not to exceed $100.
A Class B misdemeanor is punishable by a fine not to exceed $2,000 and by up to 180 days in jail.
A Class A misdemeanor is punishable by a fine not to exceed $4,000 and by up to one year in jail.
The fine for all felony theft offenses is up to a $10,000 fine; however, the term of imprisonment ranges from 180 days to 99 years in prison. To learn more about the fines and sentencing for crimes in Texas, click here.
Recommended reading: Community Supervision in Tarrant County