By Law Office of A. Oliver Hassibi
September 9, 2018
As a resident of Texas, you’re probably very familiar with the state’s driving while intoxicated (DWI) laws. You know that if you’re convicted of DWI, your Texas driver license will most likely be suspended for some time. But what about drug offenses? Did you know that if you’re facing drug charges, your license could be at risk?
In Texas, if someone is convicted of a drug or controlled substance, the following will occur:
“What if I don’t have a valid Texas driver license and I’m convicted of a drug offense?” In that case, you will not be able to obtain a driver license for 180 days. When someone is convicted of a drug offense and they are denied a license, this is called an Order of Prohibition.
An Order of Prohibition (for someone without a valid license) does not begin from the date of the drug arrest or conviction. Instead, the clock starts ticking on the day the individual contacts the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) to get information about obtaining a driver license.
Suppose you are convicted of a drug offense and your driver license is suspended for 180 days. To reinstate your Texas driver license, you must:
Related: Can I Expunge My Criminal Record?
The best way to avoid a six-month license suspension is to avoid a conviction in the first place. To start fighting your charges, contact my Fort Worth criminal defense firm.