If you or your child has been arrested for underage drinking and driving, they could be facing serious legal consequences. Texas has a "zero tolerance" policy when it comes to drinking and driving, which means that it is illegal for a minor to drive with any amount of alcohol in their system. While adult drivers can legally drive with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or less, even a .01% BAC reading could land a minor in handcuffs.
As a Fort Worth criminal defense lawyer with more than a decade of legal experience, I can provide the aggressive criminal defense that you need. I have a long track record of success in both felony and misdemeanor cases, so you can trust that I am well-equipped to defend you against your under 21 DUI charges. Contact my office today to set up a free consultation. The sooner I'm involved, the better it will be for your case.
In Texas, adult drivers can be charged with the crime of driving while intoxicated (DWI) if they are caught driving while drunk. If a minor is caught driving with any measurable amount of alcohol in their system, however, they will usually be charged with driving under the influence (DUI). That is, unless their blood alcohol concentration is measured above the legal limit of .08%—in which case, they could be charged with DWI.
Driving while intoxicated is a more serious offense than driving under the influence, as it often results in larger fines, longer periods of license suspension and even time in jail. However, that is not to say that DUI won't result in serious penalties as well. It is still considered to be a Class C misdemeanor in Texas. Not only will it result in immediate consequences like fines, but it could also affect a minor's future opportunities.
You could be arrested for driving with any measurable amount of alcohol in your system if you are under the age of 21. This includes all types of motor vehicles and watercraft.
The penalties for a first underage DUI offense include:
The penalties for a second underage DUI offense include:
If you are 17 or older and your BAC was measured at .08% or greater, you could face up to $2,000 in fines, 180 days in jail and a driver's license suspension of up to one year.
In addition to drinking and driving, it also illegal for a minor (someone under 21) to purchase, attempt to purchase, possess or consume alcohol in Texas. Each of these offenses could result in Class C misdemeanor charges. If convicted, a minor could expect to face $500 in fines, up to 40 hours of community service and a 180-day driver's license suspension. Subsequent offenses will also result in harsher consequences.
An underage DUI conviction could have long-lasting effects on your future, so it is highly recommended that you get in touch with my firm as soon as you have been arrested. As a seasoned Fort Worth DWI lawyer, I can fight diligently to protect your rights and defend you against the consequences of a conviction.
Contact my office today to speak with an experienced criminal attorney in Fort Worth. Your initial consultation is 100% free, so don't wait to call!