Fort Worth Marijuana Defense Lawyer
Arrested? Turn to A. Oliver Hassibi for help!
Texas marijuana laws are some of the strictest – possessing just two ounces qualifies for jail time. Since marijuana is classified as a Schedule I substance, this means that the potential for abuse is high and the penalties associated with it are nothing to scoff at.
Since 2002, I have been working in the community as a Fort Worth criminal lawyer and this experience makes me a qualified asset to your case. My firm possesses an in-depth understanding of the legal system and will work with you from start to finish.
Don't face these charges alone. To begin discussing your legal options, call (817) 953-2663 today.
What could I be charged with?
Although some states have begun legalizing marijuana, the state of Texas does not recognize marijuana as having any medical value. For this reason, it is still a crime to possess, cultivate, sell or distribute any amount of marijuana – which also includes drug paraphernalia that can be used to harvest, store, sell, smoke or ingest the drug. Simply possessing drug paraphernalia in Texas can result in a $500 fine.
If the marijuana-related drug crime was committed in a drug-free school zone or involved a minor, the penalties can be significantly increased. Texas also imposes a tax stamp on any marijuana-related transactions, but because the drug is illegal, paying for the tax stamp is typically avoided. If you are convicted of a drug crime, you may have to pay for the tax stamp – which is typically $3.50 for each gram or portion of a gram.
You need a Fort Worth drug crime lawyer on your side. Fill out a case evaluation now!
Penalties for Marijuana Possession in Texas
It is a crime to possess any amount of marijuana in Texas. If you are arrested for this crime, the severity of the resulting penalties will depend on the amount of marijuana that was uncovered. According to Texas Code § 481.121, the penalties can include:
- Possessing less than 2 ounces: 180 days in jail & $2,000 in fines
- Possessing 2 to 4 ounces: 1 year in jail & $4,000 in fines
- Possessing 4 ounces to 5 pounds: 180 days to 2 years in prison & $10,000 in fines
- Possessing 5 to 50 pounds: 2 to 10 years in prison & $10,000 in fines
- Possessing 50 to 2,000 pounds: 2 to 20 years in prison & $10,000 in fines
- Possessing 2,000+ pounds: 5 to 99 years in prison & $50,000 in fines
Penalties for Marijuana Cultivation & Sales
It is also a crime to cultivate or sell marijuana. If you are arrested for this crime, the severity of the penalties will depend on the amount of marijuana that was cultivated or sold. According to Texas Code § 481.120, the penalties for selling marijuana include:
- Gifting ¼ of an ounce or less: 180 days in jail & 2,000 in fines
- Selling ¼ of an ounce or less: 1 year in jail & $4,000 in fines
- Selling ¼ of an ounce to 5 pounds: 180 days to 2 years in prison & $10,000 in fines
- Selling 5 to 50 pounds: 2 to 20 years in prison & $10,000 in fines
- Selling 50 to 2,000 pounds: 5 to 99 years in prison & $50,000 in fines
- Selling 2,000+ pounds: 10 to 99 years in prison & 50,000 in fines
Don't Fight Your Drug Charges Alone
If you have never been charged with a crime before, the unknown can be scary. The Law Office of A. Oliver Hassibi is ready to stand in your corner and be the asset your case needs. My firm is solely focused on the practice of criminal defense, giving the tactics and strategies that I use a creative edge which many other firms don't possess.
Don't wait to get started. Contact a Fort Worth drug crime attorney today!
Specific Focus on Criminal Defense Law
Personal Handling of Each Case
Trustworthy Legal Care