Fort Worth Manslaughter Lawyer
Charged with manslaughter? Don't wait to Call!
Have you been charged with manslaughter? If so, you have no time to waste! A conviction could land you in prison for more than a decade, which is why it would be in your best interest to contact a Fort Worth criminal defense attorney as soon as you have been arrested. The Law Office of A. Oliver Hassibi is backed by an impressive track record of success, so there is no need to look any further for the experienced representation that you need.
Don't put your future in the hands of an inexperienced lawyer. Contact the Law Office of A. Oliver Hassibi to find out how I can assist you.
How Manslaughter Is Defined Under State Law
Unlike many other states in the U.S., Texas law does not make a distinction between voluntary and involuntary manslaughter. Under Texas Penal Code § 19.04, both crimes are combined into one single law, which states that you would be guilty of manslaughter if you recklessly cause the death of another individual. There is no requirement of premeditation, intent or knowledge on the part of the defendant.
The only element that really matters in a manslaughter case is whether or not you were "reckless" in your actions. Furthermore, if the state can prove that you were driving a vehicle while intoxicated at the time that the death occurred, it is possible that you could be charged with intoxication manslaughter or vehicular manslaughter instead. Texas is one of the only states to identify this as an independent criminal offense.
What are the penalties for manslaughter in Texas?
You could expect to face serious legal penalties if you are convicted of manslaughter. This criminal offense is prosecuted as a second-degree felony in the state of Texas.
The penalties for manslaughter (second-degree felony) may include:
- Two to 20 years in state prison
- Maximum of $10,000 in fines
- Up to 800 hours of community service
Intoxication Manslaughter – Texas Penal Code § 49.08
Texas is one of the only states in the U.S. to treat intoxication manslaughter as a separate offense. Under Texas Penal Code § 49.08, you could be charged with this crime if you operate a motor vehicle (in public), aircraft, watercraft or amusement ride while intoxicated, and by reason of that intoxication, cause the death of another person by accident or mistake. This crime is also a felony of the second degree.
If you have been charged with intoxication manslaughter, also known as vehicular manslaughter, you will be facing the same penalties as those imposed for manslaughter. For this reason, it is important to have a Fort Worth violent crime lawyer by your side throughout every step of the legal process. My firm has been defending criminally accused clients since 2002, providing us with more than a decade of experience.
Get the Hard-Hitting Defense that You Deserve
Although all criminal charges should be met with an aggressive criminal defense strategy, this becomes all the more important when you are facing violent crime charges for an offense like manslaughter. You need a skilled legal advocate fighting for your rights, which is why you should move quickly to retain the help of my firm. Get the hard-hitting defense that you deserve by scheduling a free case evaluation.
You have no time to waste when your future is on the line. Call to speak with a Fort Worth manslaughter defense attorney today.
Specific Focus on Criminal Defense Law
Personal Handling of Each Case
Trustworthy Legal Care